HP Byron Nelson Championship Tips

Previews and pre-event analysis from Golf Betting System's PGA Tour and European Tour coverage

Betting Preview - 2014 HP Byron Nelson Championship

To read Steve Bamford's HP Byron Nelson Championship Tips for 2014 click here. Follow Steve on twitter: @bamfordgolf

The HP Byron Nelson Championship has an established heritage and always attracts some of the very best players. Played at a traditionally windswept TPC Four Seasons Resort just outside Dallas in Texas, recent champions include Adam Scott, Rory Sabbatini, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley and Jason Dufner. Not a bad former champions roster I think you will agree. But what might surprise are the actual odds that these household names actually went off with. Fact is surprise winners regularly happen in this part of Texas. To read Steve Bamford's HP Byron Nelson Championship Tips for 2014 click here

Tournament Facts & Scheduling

The HP Byron Nelson Championship is now the traditional third segment of the 4 tournament Texas swing. Following on from the Valero Texas and Shell Houston Opens in early spring, TPC Four Seasons (Dallas) and Colonial Country Club (Fort Worth) make up the Texas element of the PGA Tour and players who visit each of these 4 tournaments are always assured of typically windy conditions. TPC Four Seasons is a short Par 70 format, which can be overpowered by the longer bombers; the course feature bentgrass greens and scores are totally dictated by the strength of the wind.

HP Byron Nelson Championship Course Details

TPC Four Seasons Resort, Irving, Texas. Designer: Jay Morrish 1986; latest course redesign in 2008 Course Type: Texas Technical Par: 70 Length: 7,166 yards Water Hazards: 8 Bunkers: 68 Fairways: TifSport Bermudagrass Rough: TifSport Bermudagrass 2.25" Greens: 6,000 sq.ft average featuring Bentgrass Stimpmeter: 11ft Scoring Avg 2012: 71.09 Ranked 14 of 49 courses for difficulty on the 2012 PGA Tour 2013: 70.41 Ranked 18 of 43 courses in 2013 for difficulty.

Previous Champions 2013: Sang-moon Bae; 2012: Jason Dufner; 2011: Keegan Bradley; 2010: Jason Day; 2009: Rory Sabbatini; 2008: Adam Scott; 2007: Scott Verplank.

Winners Scores - Post 2009 2013: -13/267; 2012: -11/269; 2011: -3/277; 2010: -10/270; 2009: -19/261. Winners Prices 2013: Bae - 150/1 2012: Dufner - 22/1 2011: Bradley - 200/1 2010: Day - 100/1 2009: Sabbatini- 45/1

Pre-Tournament Key Summary

TPC Four Seasons the week after TPC Sawgrass follows on very much in the same mould. Although a short Par 70, the course is technical in-nature on the basis of the strong Texas winds which pretty much every year batter the players. The importance of wind is best highlighted by the winning scores of Rory Sabbatini (2009) and Keegan Bradley (2011). The combative South African won with a -19 winning total in soft, benign conditions in 2009; whereas Mr Bradley won his Maiden PGA Tour title here 2 years later in crazily windy conditions with a -3 total. Only 5 players broke Par that particular week in Irving.

With 3 of the past 4 winners featuring starting prices of 100/1, 150/1 and 200/1 finding consistent comparative angles is difficult. However there are no doubts that success on this course goes hand-in-hand with being a comparatively long driver of the golf ball. Lack of course experience is also a total non-issue as the same winners, namely Day, Bae and Bradley were all making their course debuts when they became the Byron Nelson champion. However all winners here since 2008 were, or went on to be, Top 50 players in the Official Golf Rankings, so it's clear that quality winners triumph around TPC Four Seasons, no matter their starting price.

Below we track the results of Golf Betting System PGA Tour tipster Steve Bamford who has been producing weekly tips since 2009. You can also follow him on Twitter @bamfordgolf.


  • Louis Oosthuizen 1.75pts EW 22/1 RESULT: WD
  • Marc Leishman 1.75pts EW 22/1 RESULT: T12
  • Harris English 1pt EW 66/1 RESULT: T17
  • Angel Cabrera 1pt EW 80/1 RESULT: T12
  • Andres Romero 0.5pt EW 200/1 RESULT: MC


  • Jason Day 1.5pt EW 20/1 RESULT: T9
  • Ernie Els 1.5pt EW 33/1 RESULT: T41
  • Jeff Overton 1pt EW 40/1 RESULT: MC
  • Ryan Palmer 1pt EW 45/1 RESULT: T9
  • John Huh 1pt EW 55/1 RESULT WD
golf betting
Home  |
About GolfBettingTipster.com
          Responsible Gambling:
               GolfBettingTipster.com Contacts:
18Plus Gamcare