Barracuda Championship Tips

Previews and pre-event analysis from Golf Betting System's PGA Tour and European Tour coverage

Betting Preview - 2014 Barracuda Championship

To read Steve Bamford's Barracuda Championship Tips for 2014 click here. Follow Steve on twitter: @bamfordgolf

Whilst the world's best players visit Firestone, Ohio, to play the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, the PGA Tour undercard visit Reno; many of whom hoping amongst hope to deliver a top finish to try and earn their on-going playing rights. To best describe this freshly entitled Barracuda Championship (previously the Reno-Tahoe Open), the World Number 268, 219, 308 and 329 have won the past 4 renewals here. Favourites, don't win, but this is a tournament puzzle which can be solved. Read Steve Bamford's Barracuda Championship tips for 2014 click here

Tournament Facts & Scheduling

The Barracuda Championship is a secondary level FedEx Cup tournament which offers 300 points to the victor (full status PGA Tour winners earn 500 points). However for a field that's full of journeymen and rookies; most of whom are scratching around for a full PGA Tour card; the 2 year full exemption that's earned by the victor is absolutely priceless. Played across the same 4 days as the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, this tournament is unique on the schedule as it is played under a Modified Stableford scoring format, which is designed to reward aggressive play. The Montreaux Golf and Country Club, is located at altitude, in the mountains that straddle the Nevada/California state border; and the long Nicklaus design undoubtedly favours the longer hitters.

Barracuda Championship Course Details

Montreaux Golf and Country Club, Reno, Nevada. Designer: Jack Nicklaus 1992, with 2002 Nicklaus renovation; Course Type: Desert, Resort; Par: 72; Length: 7,472 yards; Bunkers: 62; Fairways: Bentgrass Ryegrass Poa Annua; Rough: Kentucky Bluegrass with Ryegrass; Greens: 5,500 sq.ft average featuring Bentgrass Poa Annua Stimpmeter: 11.5ft Scoring Avg 2012: Stableford Scoring 2013: Stableford Scoring.

Previous Champions: 2013: Gary Woodland; 2012: J.J. Henry; 2011: Scott Piercy; 2010: Matt Bettencourt; 2009: John Rollins; 2008: Parker McLachlin.

2013: 44 Stableford; 2012: 43 Stableford Winners

Prices: 2013: Woodland - 40/1 2012: Henry - 40/1 2011: Piercy - 50/1 2010: Bettencourt - 200/1

Pre-Tournament Key Summary

The Modified Stableford Scoring System at the Barracuda Championship always makes for a fascinating tournament. Eagles and birdies are rewarded handsomely with 5 points and 2 points respectively whilst only a single point is taken away from a player's total for a bogey. Both J.J. Henry and Gary Woodland carded eagles on the way to their respective victories and both averaged a whopping 333 and 334 yards off the tee. As we know Montreaux is at altitude, but even so those that average over 295 yards off the tee have a definite advantage in Nevada.

This tournament is all about player motivation in my mind. Look for those that need a result and who have a history of good results in the desert' love Par 72s and who are attacking players that thrive on risk and reward setups.

Below we track the results of Golf Betting System PGA Tour tipster Steve Bamford who has been producing weekly tips since 2009. You can also follow him on Twitter @bamfordgolf.


  • Gary Woodland 1pt EW 40/1 RESULT: Winner
  • Josh Teater 1pt EW 50/1 RESULT: T56
  • Brendan Steele 1pt EW 66/1 RESULT: 4th
  • Vaughn Taylor 1pt EW 66/1 RESULT: 61st
  • Stuart Appleby 1pt win 150/1, 1pt place 28/1 RESULT: T16


  • Pat Perez 1.5pts EW 33/1 RESULT: MC
  • Josh Teater 1.5pts EW 40/1 RESULT: 7th
  • Alex Cejka 1pt EW 50/1 RESULT: MC
  • John Mallinger 1pt EW 90/1 RESULT: 4th
  • Nathan Green 1pt EW 125/1 RESULT: 68th
golf betting
Home  |
          Responsible Gambling:
18Plus Gamcare